Home » shanxi Tours » Pingyao Travel Guide » Pingyao Attractions » Temple of the Town God

Temple of the Town God

Temple of the Town God

Located in the northern part of Pingyao ancient town, the local temple of the town God was originally built at the beginning of the Ming Dynasty. It was burned down in a fire accident in the ninth year during the reign of Emperor Xianfeng of the Ming Dynasty (1859 AD) and later restored in the third year reign of Emperor Tongzhi of the Qing Dynasty (1864 AD).

The extant buildings were designed in the Qing Dynasty with spacious yards and structure. Covering an area of 7302 square meters, it sits in the north facing the south with four yards consisting of such buildings as temple of the town god, temple of the fortune god, temple of the kitchen god and Zhenwu Mansion in its front and its back. The layout of the complex is characterized by a combination of temple and office structures. The saying, “The law court in the front and bedrooms in the back” is best illustrated in this complex.

The Temple of the Town God in Pingyao remains one of China’s best-preserved temples of the town god. You will definitely be amazed at its unique architectural structures and glazed tiles.